Integrated, Market-fit and Affordable Grid-scale Energy Storage

About

IMAGES is a research project funded by EPSRC. The project is led by the University of Warwick in collaboration with the University of Nottingham, Loughborough University and British Geological Survey. The project has the support of ten industrial partners. Our research is focused on two main energy storage technologies: CAES and HTTS. For more information please select below:

WHY DO WE NEED ENERGY STORAGE?

Short animation explaining why do we actually need ES

CAES

Compressed Air Energy Storage (CAES) is one type of commercialized multi-scale electrical energy storage technology.

HTTS

HTTS stands for High Temperature Thermal Storage and is an innovative technology currently undergoing a feasibility study.

COMMERCIALIZED TECHNOLOGIES

Information about other commercialized Energy Storage Technologies

OUR TEAM

The IMAGES project is lead by a group of experienced academics from a number of related fields including: Power and Control, Dynamics, Renewable Energy, Geology, Economics, Energy Security, Mathematics, Electrical Networks and Systems, Power Electronics and Industrial Economics.
Uploaded image

Prof Jihong Wang

University of Warwick
PI of the Project. Professor of Electrical Power & Control Engineering School of Engineering, University of Warwick, Coventry, CV4 7AL, UK Phone: +44 (0)24 765 23780 email: jihong.wang@warwick.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Prof Robert MacKay

University of Warwick
Professor of Mathematics Mathematics Institute Zeeman Building University of Warwick Coventry CV4 7AL
Uploaded image

Prof Michael Waterson

University of Warwick
Social Sciences, Department of Economics, University of Warwick, Coventry, CV4 7AL, UK Phone: +44 (0)2476523427 email: michael.waterson@warwick.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Prof Monica Giulietti

Loughborough University
Professor of Microeconomics + 44(0)1509 223131 M.Giulietti@lboro.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Prof Philip Eames

Loughborough University
Professor of Renewable Energy and Director of the Centre for Renewable Energy Systems Technology (CREST). +44 (0)1509 635347 p.c.eames@lboro.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Prof Seamus Garvey

Nottingham University
Professor of Dynamics & Director of the Rolls-Royce UTC in Gas Turbine Transmission Systems, Faculty of Engineering; Nottingham University. 011595137764001 seamus.garvey@nottingham.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Dr Murray Thomson

Loughborough University
Senior Lecturer in Electrical Networks and Systems +44 (0)1509 635344 m.thomson@lboro.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Dr John Barton

Loughborough University
Research Associate +44 (0)1509 635350 J.P.Barton@lboro.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Dr David Evans

British Geological Survey
Uploaded image

Dr Jonathan Busby

British Geological Survey
Team Leader Renewables and Energy Security Location: Keyworth 0115 936 3440
Uploaded image

Dr Lisa Flatley

University of Warwick
Research Fellow in Mathematics Institute +44(0)24 76150774 L.Flatley@warwick.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Dr Romanos Panayiotis

Loughborough University
Research Associate +44 (0)1509 635346 P.Romanos@lboro.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Dr Xing Luo

University of Warwick
Research Fellow School of Engineering University of Warwick Coventry CV4 7AL +44(0)2476522333 Xing.Luo@warwick.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Dr Jacek D Wojcik

University of Warwick
Project Manager & Research Fellow; University of Warwick School of Engineering Coventry CV4 7AL; J.D.Wojcik@warwick.ac.uk
Uploaded image

Mr Antoni Milodowski

British Geological Survey
Mineralogist/Petrologist Location: Keyworth 0115 936 3548
Uploaded image

MR DANIEL PARKES

British Geological Survey
Environmental Mineralogist +44(0)115 936 3114 NERC – BGS Keyworth

Latest news

Get in touch